Cake Balls

28 Feb

BeFunky_IMG_2390I know I know I know it’s been 2 months and I haven’t posted anything. My parents’ friends are already disappointed in me. I know you’ve been waiting patiently for a new recipe every week and it didn’t come, who knows maybe you killed yourself because of it already. I’m sorry if I made you commit suicide. I know it’s hard to live without my recipes. But lets not talk about my laziness anymore and let’s talk about cake balls!

I love cake. It’s the best thing in the world but guess what? Everyone on pinterest has a point, there is one thing that’s better than cake; Cake Balls! Ok I don’t think I can write cake balls! without an exclamation point after it. Making them takes a little longer than just cake. By a little I mean about a day longer. Well maybe not that much, it’s all up to you. The reason it takes long is because you need some time to let the cake balls get firm in the fridge or the freezer before you coat them with chocolate. So it depends on how fast you can make balls and how long you want to let them get firm. If you’re like and you eat a ball or two (or ten) while making them it might take you even longer.

I didn’t bake the cake from scratch. It was a mix I got a while ago. A ‘date bread’ mix. You can also use any cake or bread mix you got. I followed the instructions on the box but also added candied orange peels (cut in really small cubes) and red food coloring cause I wanted them to look pink when you bite into them through the chocolate. BeFunky_IMG_2379

Once the cake was baked I let it cool before crumbling the whole thing. Then I mixed the crumbs with half a container of cream cheese frosting. I hope Callie decides not to read this one; she hates cream cheese frosting although she looked pretty happy with them when she was eating. Probably because I didn’t tell her what was exactly in it! Some recipes use the whole container but you really don’t need to; all you need is to turn the crumbs into a dough that will be just sticky enough to form balls.BeFunky_IMG_2382

You put all the balls in the fridge overnight if you have the time, if not freezer is a great option. Just make sure they will keep their shape when dipped into a hot melted chocolate. Which brings me to the next step; melting the chocolate. I used 72% dark chocolate, it complemented the very sweet cake perfectly so I recommend using the darkest chocolate you have! I melted the chocolate in a medal bowl over boiling water on the stove. BeFunky_IMG_2383

Take the cake balls out of the fridge three at a time and cover them with the melted chocolate. Use a fork to gently take the balls out (without pricking them!) and then get rid of the excess chocolate by dabbing the fork to one side of the bowl. Put them in the fridge again so it will get harden. You can decorate them however you want. I made some colorful granulated sugar by just adding a teeny bit of food color. You can use sprinkles, coconut flakes, nuts, anything you want!BeFunky_IMG_2390

Leave a Reply

