Almond Kringle

23 Dec

BeFunky_IMG_2262

Let me start with the confession; I confused the actual kringle recipe. And here is the truth; it turned out great. I got a can of Solo Almond Filling months ago, with the hopes that one day I will be making some sort of pastry with this filling. As Christmas approached I got more and more excited about making a kringle filled with almonds and scanned through a lot of recipes online. Finally I found the one I liked the most and saved the link and read that recipe at least once a week for the past month. Yes, that’s how familiar I was with it. I knew exactly how to make it. Until I made it and realized I did not follow it at all. Well I did but with minor (rather major) changes. The recipe asks for an egg glaze which is an egg yolk and 1/4 cup of milk. I, being a kid who was too excited to bake for her friends for their first traditional Christmas Dinner, added the egg yolk and the milk inside the pastry dough instead of saving it for a glaze on top of it. I was worried but it turned out absolutely great. It may not be a traditional kringle when you eat it but it has an amazing buttery but light flavor to the pastry and a sweetness to its filling.

Ingredients

2 + 1/8 cups flour

1 + 1/2 tablespoons sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup cold butter

1/2 cup milk

1 egg yolk

1 package active dry yeast

1/4 cup warm water

1 can of Solo Almond Filling

Add the yeast to the warm water in small cup and let it stand for 5-6 minutes until it gets bubbly and rises.

Measure flour, sugar, salt, and cut cold butter into the mixture. Using a fork, mix the whole thing.

Beat the egg yolk and milk with your hand in a small bowl.

Add them egg mixture and the yeast mixture into the flour, salt and butter. Turn it into a dough.

Cover it and let it stay in the fridge overnight (If you don’t have the time you can keep it for at least 2 hours)

When you take it out of the fridge, roll it out on a floured surface into a rectangle. Fold the two sides on top of each other like a letter and roll out to a big rectangle again. Repeat 4 times. Cover it and put it in a warm place for 20 minutes. I turn my oven on to 260 ºF and then turn if off once it hits that temperature and put the dough in there. It will double in size. Take it out and repeat the rolling out and folding 3 more times.

BeFunky_IMG_2233

Have a big rectangle in front of you and add the Solo Almond Filling in the middle. Fold it like a letter, pinch the dough to make sure its closed all the way. I gave it an oval shape.

BeFunky_IMG_2238

Place it in the warm (only 260 ºF) oven once again and let it rise for 20 minutes. Again it will double in size. That’s when you take the doubled dough out of the oven and heat up your oven to 350 ºF. Place it on the middle rack and bake for 15-20 minutes.

BeFunky_IMG_2262

I served it with a little bit of powdered sugar and candied oranges. You can also add almonds.

Leave a Reply

