Grilled Salmon with Zucchini

28 Oct

Finally! I finally had my salmon fix. It took me two weeks but I finally found delicious and decent priced salmon fillets in a supermarket. I’m health conscious (aside from the fact that I love the taste of salmon) but I’m also pocket conscious so I spent a couple of weeks going into every market I see on the street to find it, and I finally did.

I normally bake salmon in the oven at 350°F but I recently bought this tiny electric grill that I love to use. So I went with the grilled version of this. Because the salmon was very fresh, it fell apart when I tried to take it off the grill. First I was sad because my presentation was not going to be how I pictured it but then I was glad it fell apart because I realized it wasn’t cooked all the way through. Probably because it was such a thick slice of fish.

I hope it looks appetizing because it sure was delicious and you should totally make it at home, grilled or oven baked. There is no specific recipe, so I’m just going to let you know how I made it.

I marinated the salmon fillets in air tight tupperware with olive oil, paprika, cumin, oregano, salt, and a little bit of herbes de provence. It was in the fridge for about 4 hours so it really got all the flavor. I put the fillets on the grill and cooked them for about 30 minutes. It took long because I wanted it to be cooked very well all the way through. Maybe my grill doesn’t get as hot as it should. Use your judgement at home.

In the meantime I heated up some olive oil in a pan and added onion salt, regular paprika, and parsley, stirred them till I could smell all those spices. I cut the zucchini in small chunks and put them in the pan. Sauteed till zucchinis were soft.

Placed the chunks of salmon on top of the zucchini and topped it with half a table spoon of capers. Served it with a julienne sliced tomato and green pepper salad which had apple cider vinegar and extra virgin olive oil drizzled over it. I don’t know about you but I think mustard goes really well with salmon so that’s what you see on the plate 🙂

Leave a Reply

