Little Fig Baskets

4 Oct

One of the fruits I miss the most is figs. Nothing I found in the States ever matched what we have in Turkey. You can find bigger and tastier figs any market you go, and its way cheaper. Last week I gave in and bought a box of organic green figs (I can never decide whether I like the green ones or the black ones better). Some of them were very firm so I waited a few days for them to get softer because once they’re soft you can be sure that they’re going to taste sweeter.

I was trying to find a way to turn them into an easy and quick desert, so I came up with this one. I call them baskets because I don’t cut the figs all the way through, instead I leave the bottom attached and open them up like flowers in a tiny bowl. They’re incredibly easy to make, and absolutely delicious.

Ingredients

2 small to medium sized figs (you can use green or black)

1/4 cup cubed oranges

1 tablespoon tahini

1/2 tablespoon molasses

2 tablespoons non-fat plain yogurt

Pistachios

To make the sauce, simply combine the tahini, molasses, and yogurt. Mix it well.

I make two cuts on the figs with the bottoms still holding each quarter, put a few cubes of orange and then divide the sauce on top of them before sprinkling with pistachios.

Leave a Reply

